Peer Gynt

Edward Grieg arr William Halliwell
  • Catalog No: FBM00007
  • Materials: Paper
  • Date of Production: 1915
  • Ownership: Foden's Band
  • Location: Foden's Bandroom

(please click on image to magnify)

Peer Gynt, Op. 23 is the incidental music to Henrik Ibsen's 1867 play of the same name, written by the Norwegian composer Edward Grieg in 1875. It premiered along with the play on 24 February 1876 in Christiania (now Oslo).

Later, in 1888 and 1891, Grieg extracted eight movements to make two four-movement suites : Suite No. 1, Op. 46, and Suite No. 2, Op. 55. Some of these movements have received coverage in popular culture. 

(above courtesy of Wikipede)

This arrangement was made in 1915